ABOUT US - Members of Council
The Alberta College of Optometrists (ACO) is governed by an elected Council of at least 6 practicing Optometrists elected by the membership at an Annual General Meeting, and 2 Public Members who are appointed by order of the Alberta Government Lieutenant Governor in Council.

In accordance with Alberta’s Health Professions Act the Council has struck the following committees:
  • Registration Committee
  • Competence Committee
  • Complaint Review Committee
  • Hearings Tribunal
  • Membership List
As with all Health Professions, the Alberta College of Optometrists submits an annual report to Alberta’s Minister of Health, in accordance with information requested by the Minister.

Members of the ACO Council
Council of the Alberta College of Optometrists
Front Row (seated from Left to Right) Back Row (standing from Left to Right)
Dr. James Thompson (Past-President) Dr. Rob Kloepfer (Regulated Council Member)
Dr. Nasir Khan (President) Dr. Samantha Giang (Regulated Council Member)
Dr. Tom Wilk (Regulated Council Member) Dr. Rob McLaughlin (Regulated Council Member)
  Dr. Nohad Teliani (President-Elect)
  Dr. Jennifer Zwicker (Public Council Member)
Not Available for the Photo Dr. Gordon Hensel (Registrar)
Mrs. Barbara Boyer (Public Council Member)